Krav Maga Level Testing: Explained

Looking to kick things up a notch with your Krav Maga training? Have you considered private training to get ready for the next level of Krav Maga. Working to achieve the next level is highly dependent on several things; how long you have trained and how often you train each week. Here’s what you need to know about the levels of Krav Maga.

Levels of Krav Maga: Belts System

Krav Maga has different levels that students can participate in a test to advance from one level to the next. You might hear the tests referred to as “Belt Tests” but we don’t actually give out any belts. Instead, students receive a signed certificate from Krav Maga Worldwide. Each level has its own difficulties, so as a student goes from one level to the next, they can expect the level of difficulty and cumulative knowledge to increase.

What Does Each Belt Signify?

Each belt signifies a different level of training and takes its own amount of time to achieve. The time it takes to master each level is always an estimate as each student will advance at their own pace. Individual physical and mental readiness plays a large role in how long it takes for a student to advance.

  • Level 1: Testing for Yellow Belt Level (4 – 6 months)

  • Level 2: Testing for Orange Belt Level  (6 – 9 months)

  • Level 3: Testing for Green Belt Level  (12 months)

  • Level 4: Testing for Blue Belt Level (12 months)

  • Level 5: Testing for Brown and Black Belt Level (12+ months)

Progressing Through the Levels of Krav Maga

Progressing through the levels of Krav Maga is not easy, but it is certainly attainable and rewarding. With hard work, persistence, and commitment to training, students are able to advance from one belt level to the next. For students looking to test, here are some key points to keep in mind:

  • Practice, Practice, Practice!: The more the better. The more you are willing to put into your training, the more you will get out of it.

  • Perfect the Moves: Don’t just stop at learning a move and practicing it a few times. Understand each technique and how it supports the principles of Krav Maga

  • Training Buddies: Most students train better with a partner, someone committed to the same goal and a good source of support.

What do Belt Tests look like?

Belt tests are meant to push students past their comfort zones, both mentally and physically. The test will contain numerous drills that will simulate the stress and chaos that students may experience in a real fight on the street, including exhaustion, confusion and disorientation. Each test is approximately 3 hours long, and higher-level tests are comprehensive. This means that if a student is completing a Level 2 test, they are expected to be proficient in all Level 1 techniques as well.

How do I know I am ready to test?

At the very minimum, you must have attended a certain number of classes to be eligible to test. Below are the class requirements for each level:

  • Yellow Belt: 40 hours of Level 1 classes

  • Orange Belt: 60 hours of Level 2 classes

  • Green Belt: 90 hours of Level 3 classes

  • Blue Belt: 120 hours of Level 4 classes

  • Brown Belt: 120 hours of Level 5 classes

As well, we host a review the week before a test to give students an opportunity to get feedback from the testing instructor. After the review, the instructor will give their recommendation to each student to either test or continue training in classes to correct identified deficiencies.

Stay focused and motivated towards your goals.  Check out the schedule for upcoming belt test.

Belt testing can be one of the most challenging, exhausting but rewarding experiences a student can go through! They are meant to maintain the integrity of Krav Maga and ensure that each student is prepared to defend themselves in a given situation based on the techniques and principles they have learned.

Originally sourced and edited from